New Adrien Prize – Shortlist Announced!

7 December, 2022

Earlier this year, the children’s book world lost two important awards when the Blue Peter Book Awards and the Costa Children’s Book Award both announced that they would no longer be running.  As a former Blue Peter Book Award winner, author Elle McNicoll knows the important role that awards can play in getting books into the hands of young readers and decided that there was an opportunity to set up a new prize.

The Adrien Prize is named after one of the neurodivergent characters in McNicoll’s second novel Show Us Who You Are. The award celebrates middle grade and YA fiction that provides a positive portrayal of a main character with a disability. You can find out more about why Elle McNicoll felt she needed to establish a new prize and her aims for the award in this interview in Books for Keeps.

The inaugural shortlist for the Adrien Prize was announced on Monday 5th December. Congratulations to all the shortlisted authors!


Cover shots of the three shortlisted titles for the Adrien Prize

The Adrien Prize shortlist

The Secret of Haven Point by Lisette Auton (Puffin)

Wilder Than Midnight by Cerrie Burnell (Puffin)

A Flash of Fireflies by Aisha Bushby (Farshore Books)

The winners of the Adrien Prize will be chosen by panels of young judges made up of six pupils from Year 6 /Primary 7 or above. Teachers or librarians have until 13th January to apply to be part of the judging process by contacting @AdrienPrize.

Image of author Elle McNicoll reading