Alligator’s Mouth Award 2024 – Winner Announced!

4 July, 2024

Cover of the winner of the Alligator's Mouth Award 2024Congratulations to Philip Reeve and Sarah McIntyre whose pacy and heart-warming story AdventureMice: Otter Chaos (David Fickling) was crowned the winner of this year’s Alligator’s Mouth Award at a special ceremony on 20th June.

Now in its sixth year, the Alligator’s Mouth Award celebrates the best highly-illustrated fiction titles for 6-8 year-olds, an important category of books that helps children build reading stamina and gain confidence at a crucial stage of their reading journey. The award is run by specialist children’s bookshop the Alligator’s Mouth and the Bright Agency, in partnership with Gardners Books and national reading charity Coram Beanstalk.

AdventureMice: Otter Chaos was selected from a shortlist of five books by a judging panel of authors, illustrators and booksellers that included last year’s winner, author/illustrator Elys Dolan.

Commenting on this year’s winner, Dolan said: “It does that great thing of funny not being the opposite of serious. There’s some really funny writing and really funny illustrating in there and they work so well together. I love an ensemble cast, different mice with different skills and backgrounds. It’s such a masterclass on worldbuilding, there’s so much depth to the world that’s created.”

Find more children’s book awards here.

Alligator's Mouth Award logo