Branford Boase Award

From Branford Boase Award

Resource type: Book awards

Price band: Free

Key stage: KS2, KS3

Region(s): All of UK

The Branford Boase Award is made annually to the most promising book for children of seven and upward by a first-time novelist. It recognises not only the author but also the contribution of the editor in identifying and nurturing new talent. The Award is judged by a panel of authors and children’s book experts.

See the winner of the 2022 Branford Boase Award here.


  • The shortlist is announced in April.
  • The winner is announced at a ceremony in July.

Cost: Free.

About the Branford Boase Award: The Branford Boase Award was set up in 1999 in memory of award-winning author Henrietta Branford and her editor Wendy Boase.

Further resources:

  • There are free teaching notes for a selection of past winners available to download from the website.
  • Find past winners of the Branford Boase Awards here.
  • The Henrietta Branford Writing Competition is an annual writing competition for young people that runs in conjunction with the Branford Boase Award.
  • For a full listing of children’s book awards, click here.

Visit the resource

Contact Details

Contact this resource provider

02380 600439

Rate this resource

Click on the star to rate it!

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Branford Boase Award logo