Costa Children’s Book Award

From Costa Book Awards

Resource type: Book awards

Price band: Free

Key stage: KS2, KS3

Region(s): All of UK

The Costa Book Awards, one of the UK’s most prestigious book prizes, has come to an end after 50 years following a surprise announcement by Costa Coffee early in June. The prize had five categories – First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book. From the winners of each of these categories, one book was then selected to be the Costa Book of the Year.

The Children’s Book Award was judged by a panel of expert judges and celebrated the most enjoyable books of the year written for children aged between 9 and 15.

Read our Winners Announcement for the 2021 Costa Children’s Book Award.

Cost: Free.

About the Costa Book Awards: The Costa Book Awards were previously known as the Whitbread Book Awards and have been going since 1971.

Further resources:

  • Find past winners of the Costa Children’s Book Award here.
  • For a full list of children’s book awards, click here.

Visit the resource

Rate this resource

Click on the star to rate it!

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Costa Book Awards logo