English 4-11 Picture Book Awards

From English Association

Resource type: Book awards

Price band: Free

Key stage: KS1, KS2

Region(s): All of UK

The English 4-11 Picture Book Awards are presented by the English Association to the best children’s picture books of the previous year across four categories:

  • Fiction for 4-7 year-olds
  • Non-fiction for 4-7 year-olds
  • Fiction for 7-11 year-olds
  • Non-fiction for 7-11 year-olds

In addition, one of the books submitted to the English 4-11 Picture Book Awards is selected as the recipient of the Margaret Mallett Prize for Children’s Non-Fiction. Margaret Mallet was a member of the English Association and the prize was created in her memory to celebrate unique approaches to non-fiction writing for children. 

The shortlist is selected by teachers and primary specialists who are looking for titles where text and pictures are “of equal importance, and demonstrate the synergy between high quality writing and imaginative well-crafted images, where each feeds and interacts with the other to create a book that will fully engage the reader, in both its design and content.”

The winning titles are chosen by the editorial board of English 4-11, the journal for primary teachers published jointly by the English Association and the United Kingdom Literacy Association. 


  • The shortlists are announced in April .
  • The winners are announced in May. 

Read our winner announcement for the English 4-11 Picture Book Award 2024.

Cost: Free. 

About the English Association: The English Association is a learned society, membership association, and registered charity incorporated by Royal Charter (no. 1124890).

Further resources:

Visit the resource


Rate this resource

Click on the star to rate it!

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

English 4-11 Picture Book Awards logo