FCBG Children’s Book Award

From Federation of Children's Book Groups

Resource type: Book awards

Price band: Free

Key stage: KS1, KS2, KS3

Region(s): All of UK

The FCBG Children’s Book Award is administered by the Federation of Children’s Book Groups and is the only national award voted for solely by children from start to finish. There are three  award categories:

  • Books for Younger Children
  • Books for Younger Readers
  • Books for Older Readers

Children who are part of the nationwide network of the Federation of Children’s Book Groups select the shortlists for each category, but any child in the UK is eligible to vote for the eventual winners. As well as individual category winners, there is also one overall winner.

Read our shortlist and winner announcements for the  FCBG Children’s Book Awards 2024.


  • The shortlists are announced in February
  • The deadline for online voting is in May.
  • The winners are announced in June.

Cost: Free

About The Federation of Children’s Book Groups: The FCBG is an umbrella organisation that coordinates and supports the work of local Children’s Book Groups across the UK. As well as events for parents and children organised at a local level, the FCBG also organises National Non-fiction November and other national events to help bring children and books together.

Further resources:

Visit the resource


Rate this resource

Click on the star to rate it!

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Logo for Children's Book Award