Laugh Out Loud Book Awards

From Scholastic UK

Resource type: Book awards

Price band: Free

Key stage: KS1, KS2, KS3

Region(s): All of UK

The Laugh Out Loud Book Awards (LOLLIES) celebrate the best and funniest children’s books in the UK and Ireland and were set up by Scholastic UK in 2015 after the withdrawal of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize. Funny books are often overlooked by other awards but can play an important role in encouraging children to become readers.

As of 2022, and in the wake of the demise of the Blue Peter Book Awards, the number of award categories has been expanded to include:

  • Picture Books
  • Books for 6-8 year-olds
  • Books for 9-13 year-olds
  • Poetry books
  • Non-fiction Books
  • Books for Teen and Young Adults
  • Illustrator of the Year

A shortlist of four titles for each of the three categories is selected by a panel of experts, but the winners are voted for by children across the country.

See the shortlist and winner announcements for the Lollies 2023.


  • The 2024 shortlists will be announced in the summer term. Further details to be announced.

Cost: Free.

About Scholastic UK: Scholastic UK is part of Scholastic Coporation, the world’s largest publisher and distributor of children’s books.

Further resources:

Visit the resource

Rate this resource

Click on the star to rate it!

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Logo for the Laugh Out Loud Book Awards for primary and secondary children