Oscar’s Book Prize 2023 – Winner Announced!

11 May, 2023

Cover image of The Boy with Flower in His Hair - winner of the Oscar's Book Prize 2023Congratulations to author/illustrator Jarvis whose original and thoughtful picture book The Boy with Flowers in His Hair (Walker) was declared the winner of this year’s Oscar’s Book Prize at a ceremony in London on Wednesday 10th May.

Oscar’s Book Prize, now in its 10th year, celebrates the best picture books for pre-schoolers and young children. The award was set up by the parents of Oscar Ashton to encourage parents to read and share books with their young children, in memory of their son who died in 2012.

The Boy with Flowers in His Hair was the unanimous choice of the panel of judges, made up of former Waterstones Children’s Laureate Cressida Cowell; British Book Awards ‘Illustrator of the Year 2022’ Dapo Adeola; award-wining author and illustrator Benji Davies; UK Country Manager at Amazon.co.uk Lisa de Meyer; and co-founder of the award Viveka Alvestrand.

HRH Princess Beatrice, patron of the prize, said the judges felt The Boy with Flowers in His Hair was an ‘instant modern classic. Its values of friendship and acceptance exemplify the very best tropes in picture-book storytelling, all told with a gentle immersive world for its readers’.

Winning author/illustrator Jarvis said: ‘I could not be more delighted to have won this year’s Oscar’s Book Prize, and taking a look around the room and the incredibly talented authors and illustrators also shortlisted, it truly is an honour. I’ve always believed that picture books are a piece of art that everyone can own. This award celebrates the art and joy in children’s books and I am so pleased that my book, which focuses on poignant issues surrounding vulnerability and friendship, has been received so well.’

Cover shots of the five other shortlisted titles for the Oscar's Book Prize 2023

Also shortlisted for the Oscar’s Book Prize 2023:

The Gecko and the Echo by Rachel Bright, illustrated by Jim Field (Orchard Books )

Teapot Trouble: A Duck and Tiny Horse Adventure by Morag Hood (Two Hoots)

Can I Play? by Nicola Kinnear (Alison Green Books)

Frank and Bert by Chris Naylor Ballesteros (Nosy Crow)

Billy and the Pirates by Nadia Shireen (Jonathan Cape)

For more children’s book awards, click here.

Oscar's Book Prize logo