The Bookbug Picture Book Prize 2023 – Shortlist Announced!

28 September, 2022

The shortlist for The Bookbug Picture Book Prize 2023 has been announced. This annual award was established to celebrate the best new picture books by authors and illustrators based in Scotland and to encourage reading for pleasure.

The shortlist of three titles was chosen by an independent panel of experts but the winner will be selected by thousands of young children across Scotland who can cast their votes online either at school with their teacher or at home with their family.

All schools across the UK can access the range of free learning resources created by award administrators Scottish Book Trust to help them explore the shortlisted titles in the classroom.

Congratulations to all the shortlisted authors and illustrators!

Cover images of the three titles shortlisted for The Bookbug Picture Book Prize 2023

The Bookbug Picture Book Prize Shortlist 2023

Stuck Inside by Sally Anne Garland  (Sunbird Books)

My First Book of Sea Creatures by Zoë Ingram (Walker Books)

Scaredy Bat by Jonathan Meres, illustrated by Anders Frang (Little Door Books)

The deadline for voting is Friday 27th January 2023 and the winner will be announced on Thursday 2nd March 2023. Watch out for our winner announcement.
For more children’s book awards, click here.
Bookbug logo