The Diverse Book Awards

From The Diverse Book Awards

Resource type: Book awards

Price band: Free

Key stage: KS1, KS2, KS3, KS4, KS5

Region(s): All of UK

The Diverse Book Awards were set up to showcase the best inclusive fiction: stories that feature characters that are not typically widely represented and that celebrate all forms of diversity.

Open to any author based in the UK or Ireland, there are four award categories:

  • Picture Books
  • Children’s Fiction
  • Young Adult Fiction
  • Adult Fiction

The winners are chosen by a panel of judges made up of authors, young readers, editors and experts from the children’s book world but readers can vote for their favourite title from the longlist in the Readers’ Choice Awards.

See the shortlist and winner announcements for the Diverse Book Awards 2023.


  • The shortlist is announced in September.
  • The winners are announced in October.

Cost: Free.

About The Diverse Book Awards: The Diverse Book Awards were established in 2019 by author Abiola Bello and publicist Helen Lewis.

Further resources:

  • Find past winners and shortlisted titles here.
  • The Jhalak Children’s & YA Prize is an annual book award for the best book written for young people by a British author of colour.
  • The Little Rebels Children’s Book Award celebrates fiction that challenges stereotypes and promotes social justice.
  • Explore the Reflecting Realities section of the website for more resources to help build an inclusive and representative library.
  • For a full list of children’s book awards, click here.

Visit the resource

Rate this resource

Click on the star to rate it!

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

The Diverse Book Awards logo