Tir na n-Og Awards 2023: Shortlists Announced!

28 March, 2023

The shortlists for this year’s Tir na n-Og Awards have been announced. The Tir na n-Og Awards are the oldest and most popular awards for children’s literature in Wales. They celebrate the talents of authors and illustrators who either create original works in Welsh, or who write about authentically Welsh themes or backgrounds through the medium of English. The awards are administered by the Books Council of Wales with the support of CILIP Cymru Wales and are judged by independent panels of children’s book experts.

There are three award categories: Welsh Language Primary; Welsh Language Secondary; and English Language.

Commenting on the two Welsh Language shortlists, Morgan Dafydd, Chair of the Welsh Language panel, said: ‘Despite the cost of living crisis, from looking at this year’s provision we can see that the book industry continues to hold its ground and that creativity is flourishing. This year we saw a mixture of new names in the world of children’s books alongside more familiar ones. In my third year on the panel I can say with certainty that the standard is very high this year – and in truth it continues to rise every year.’

Helgard Krause, Chief Executive of the Books Council of Wales, said of the English Language shortlist: ‘Congratulations to everyone who has contributed to the books on this year’s shortlist. The English-language prize showcases books with an authentic Welsh dimension – and this year’s shortlist is a wonderful celebration of Wales’ storytelling traditions. I’m sure every one of these titles will capture the imaginations of young readers, and I’m looking forward to finding out the winner of the awards in June.’

English Language Shortlist

The Blackthorn Branch byElen Caldecott (Andersen Press)

The Drowned Woods by Emily Lloyd-Jones (Hodder)

The Mab by various authors, illustrated by Max Low, Ed. Matt Brown and Eloise Williams, (Unbound)

Blue Book of Nebo by Manon Steffan Ros (Firefly)


Welsh Language Primary Shortlist

Enwogion o Fri: Nye – Bywyd Angerddol Aneurin Bevan by Manon Steffan Ros, illustrated by Valériane Leblond (Llyfrau Broga)

Dros y Môr a’r Mynyddoedd by various authors, illustrated by Elin Manon (Gwasg Carreg Gwalch)

Dwi Eisiau Bod yn Ddeinosor by Huw Aaron and Luned Aaron (Atebol)


Welsh Language Secondary Shortlist

Manawydan Jones: Y Pair Dadeni by Alun Davies (Y Lolfa)

Gwlad yr Asyn by Wyn Mason, illustrated by Efa Blosse Mason (Gwasg Carreg Gwalch)

Powell by Manon Steffan Ros (Y Lolfa)

The winner of each category will be announced in June, along with the winner of the new Readers’ Choice Award. The Readers’ Choice Award will be judged by children and young people who take part in the Tir na n-Og shadowing scheme. Find out more about how schools in Wales can get involved here.

Tir na n-Og Awards logo