Tir na n-Og Children’s Book Awards

From Books Council of Wales

Resource type: Book awards

Price band: Free

Key stage: KS1, KS2, KS3, KS4

Region(s): Wales

The Tir na n-Og Awards are the oldest and most popular awards for children’s literature in Wales. Established in 1976, the awards recognise, celebrate and promote excellence in books for Welsh children and young people. There are three award categories:

  • Welsh-langauge Primary (ages 4-11)
  • Welsh-language Secondary (ages 11-18)
  • English-language title with an authentic Welsh dimension (ages 4-18)

The Tir na n-Og Awards are administered by the Books Council of Wales and are judged by panels of teachers, educationalists and children’s book experts.

Schools in Wales can also sign up for the Tir na n-Og Shadowing Scheme, which provides books and resources to encourage children and young people to read and discuss the shortlisted titles and vote for their favourites in the Readers’ Choice Awards.

See the shortlist and winners of the 2023 Tir na n-Og Awards.


  • The shortlists are announced in March and shadowing begins.
  • Votes for the Readers’ Choice Awards 2023 must be submitted by 24th May 2023.
  • The winners are announced in May and June.

Cost: Free.

About the Books Council of Wales: The Books Council of Wales is a national charity that supports and develops the publishing industry of Wales. Established in 1961, the Books Council of Wales works with publishers to nurture new talent and content in Welsh and English and promotes literacy and reading for pleasure through a range of campaigns, activities and events across Wales.

Further resources:

Visit the resource


Rate this resource

Click on the star to rate it!

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Tir na n-Og Awards logo