Jhalak Children’s & YA Prize

From Jhalak Prize

Resource type: Book awards

Price band: Free

Key stage: KS1, KS2, KS3, KS4

Region(s): All of UK

The Jhalak Children’s & YA Prize is a prize for the best book published in the UK by a British or British resident BAME writer. It covers books for young people of all ages and is open to titles from all genres – picture books, graphic novels, fiction, non-fiction and poetry.

The winner is chosen by a panel of judges made up of authors from the BAME community.

See the shortlisted titles for the Jhalak Children’s & YA Prize 2023 here.


  • The shortlist will be announced on 18th April 2023.
  • The 2023 winner will be announced on 25th May.

Cost: Free.

About the Jhalak Prize: The Jhalak Prize was founded in 2016 by authors Sunny Singh and Nikesh Shukla, and the not-for-profit organisation Media Diversified. Its sister prize, the Jhalak Children’s & YA Prize was founded in 2020. Both prizes aim to support and celebrate British authors of colour and highlight the need for more work by BAME writers to be published.

Further resources

  • The Diverse Book Awards are awarded to the best inclusive fiction books published for children and Young Adults in the UK.
  • Explore the Reflecting Realities section of the website for more resources to help you build an inclusive and representative library.
  • For a full list of children’s book awards, click here.

Visit the resource


Rate this resource

Click on the star to rate it!

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Jhalak Prize logo