UKLA Book Awards


Resource type: Book awards

Price band: Free

Key stage: KS1, KS2, KS3

Region(s): All of UK

The UKLA Book Awards is the only national children’s book award that is judged entirely by teachers.

The aim of the awards is to celebrate the role of books for young people in all educational settings and to promote teachers’ knowledge of recently-published, high-quality children’s books that reflect a broad range of perspectives and experiences.

There are four award categories:

  • Fiction and Poetry for 3-6 year-olds.
  • Fiction and Poetry for 7-10+ year-olds.
  • Fiction and Poetry for 11-14+ year-olds.
  • Information Books for 3-14+ year-olds.

See the shortlist for the UKLA Book Awards 2024.


  • Applications to be on the panel of Teacher Judges open in June.
  • The longlists are announced in September and Teacher Judges begin the process of reading and sharing the books with their pupils.
  • The shortlists are announced in March.
  • The winners are announced in July.

Cost: Free.

About UK Literacy Association: The UKLA is a registered charity dedicated to informing and supporting all those concerned with the development of language, literacy and communication.

Further resources:

  • The Teachers’ Reading Challenge and the OU/UKLA Teachers’ Reading Groups both provide further opportunities for teachers to read and discuss children’s books with their peers.
  • Book award shortlists are always a good source of book recommendation and there are awards for all genres. For a full list of children’s book awards click here.

Visit the resource

Contact Details

Contact this resource provider

0116 254 4116

Rate this resource

Click on the star to rate it!

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

UKLA logo