Waterstones Children’s Book Prize 2022: Winner Announced!

7 April, 2022

Cover image of The Last Bear

The Last Bear written by Hannah Gold and illustrated by Levi Pinfold (HarperCollins Children’s Books) has been named the Best Book for Younger Readers and Overall Winner of the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize 2022.

Described by one of the bookseller judges as ‘A beautiful book inside and out, packed full of bravery, kindness and heart,’ The Last Bear tells the story of 11-year-old April, the daughter of an Arctic researcher, and her chance encounter with a lone polar bear. It is a celebration of the love between a child and an animal, a battle cry for our world and an irresistible adventure.

The Last Bear is Gold’s debut novel. Earlier this year, it won the 2022 Blue Peter Book Award – Best Story and has also been shortlisted for this year’s British Book Awards (Children’s Fiction Book of the Year).

Chosen as the winner of the Best Books for Younger Readers category from a shortlist of six titles, The Last Bear also beat the winners of the Best Illustrated Book and Best Book for Older Readers categories to be declared this year’s Overall Winner.

Cover image of Grandad's Camper

To see all 18 shortlisted titles for this year’s Waterstones Children’s Book Prize, click here.

Logo for Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2022