Waterstones Children’s Book Prize

From Waterstones

Resource type: Book awards

Price band: Free

Key stage: KS1, KS2, KS3, KS4

Region(s): All of UK

The Waterstones Children’s Book Prize is a celebration of the best new talent in children’s writing and illustration, as voted for by Waterstones booksellers. There are three prize categories:

  • Illustrated Books
  • Younger Readers
  • Older Readers

There are winners for each of the three categories, who then compete for the overall title of Waterstones Children’s Book of the Year.

Discover the shortlisted titles and the Overall Winner for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize 2024.


  • The shortlists are released in February.
  • The winners are announced in March/April.

Cost: Free.

About Waterstones: Waterstones is a chain of bookshops originally founded by Tim Waterstone in 1982. It is the last national bookshop chain, with over 280 sites across the UK.

Further resources:

Visit the resource


Rate this resource

Click on the star to rate it!

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2023 logo