Information Book Award

From School Library Association

Resource type: Book awards

Price band: Free

Key stage: KS1, KS2, KS3, KS4

Region(s): All of UK

The Information Book Award was established in 2010 to reinforce the importance of information books and celebrate the high standard of titles available. There are three separate age categories:

  • Under 7s
  • Ages 8-12
  • Ages 13-16

The award is administered by the School Library Association and judged by a panel that includes experienced librarians. Winners are selected for each category and there is also an overall winner.

There is the opportunity for young readers to ‘shadow’ the judging and to vote for their favourite title in each category and their overall winner in the Children’s Choice Awards.

You can view the 2021 winners here and see the full shortlist here.


  • The shortlist is announced in June and shadowing for the Children’s Choice Awards starts.
  • The winners of the Information Book Award and the Children’s Choice Award are announced in November.

Cost: Free.

About School Library Association: The SLA is a charity that supports everyone involved in school libraries. It has 23 regional branches across the UK and Ireland and provides training, advice and resources, as well as publishing a quarterly journal – The School Librarian.

Further resources:

Visit the resource

Contact Details

Contact this resource provider

01793 530166

Rate this resource

Click on the star to rate it!

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Information Book Award logo